Devoted to our culinary adventures!

picture-10

I love to read and really enjoyed coming up with a pie that had a literary connection! It took awhile to find the right story, and then it hit me- apple crumb pie with apples from The Giving Tree. What a story!!

 

Apple Crumb Pie

Apple Crumb Pie

My pie of choice was Martha Stewart’s Apple Crumb Pie from her Baking Handbook- it was easy and delicious! I just can’t wait to get a better pie dish. I’ve been hunting for a pyrex that doesn’t have those huge handles on the sides. This recipe worked out well in it because I didn’t have to trim the dough on the sides but the handles make me nuts :-)

I’m excited to be a part of this group and can’t wait for the challenges to come!

P.S. And the tree was happy…..

Comments on: "YWPWT? The Giving Tree- Apple Crumb Pie" (7)

  1. Ah… the giving tree apple pie, how perfect is that! I use to read The Giving Tree to my boys when they were little. I love that book… and I love apple crumb pie! Good job!

  2. Oooh, that’s a perfect story for a pie connection. Mmmm, apple crumb is one of my favorites… yours looks delish!

  3. I’m a huge apple pie fan and this looks absolutely delectable! Good job! If you are looking for a new pie plate, I use an Emile Henry one and swear by it. The crust is always perfect and it’s pretty too!

  4. The Shel Silverstein books are the only ones that we didn’t pass along when our kids grew up. We just love them. Great pick!

  5. that book looks very cute and the pie looks yummy too

  6. This looks sooo good. I’ve been eyeing that recipe for months now too. What a beautiful pie to celebrate a wonderful book. Thank you so much for baking along with me this month!! – mary the food librarian

  7. Awww, one of my favorite books – I can feel myself tearing up as I think about it! The pie looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

