Devoted to our culinary adventures!

YWPWT? Shoo Fly Pie

Shoo fly pie

Jacque & Natashya chose this month’s there- Pies for the Rich and Famous. How much fun! After careful consideration… I decided to bake a Shoo Fly Pie just in case Bernie Madoff or any of the AIG execs dropped by for a visit. I’m sure they are all used to much more decadent desserts, but given my current financial state, a more modest Pennsylvania Dutch treat will have to do! :-)

In all seriousness, I’ve never had a Shoo Fly Pie so I really didn’t know what to expect and like the other PA Dutch items I’ve attempted to make- the directions were very limited with no picture! But my husband is originally from eastern Pennsylvania and thought the pie looked like ones he’s seen at the farmers markets :-) I had read that shoo fly pies tasted similar to pecan pies but without the nuts, but I just wasn’t a big fan of all the molasses! Oh well- I had such a blast planning this pie to go with the theme, it was so worth it!

If you’d like to take a stab at a shoo fly pie this is the recipe that I tried! Check out the rest of this month’s round up!

Comments on: "YWPWT? Shoo Fly Pie" (7)

  1. This looks delicious!

  2. I’ve been curious about Shoo Fly pie for years, myself. It looks like it turned out great, and I like how you made something cost-efficient in this economy!

  3. Haha, I love your famous person! Excellent interpretation of the theme. :) The pie looks yummy!

  4. i always tell people that shoofly pie is a cross between gingerbread and chess pie. when i make them, i use sorgham instead of molasses, it tastes so much better. guess i’m not the only one thinking of bernie madoff, he was my pick this month too!

  5. I’ve heard of shoo fly pie but don’t think I’ve ever seen one here on the west coast. I like your inspiration. :)

  6. I’ve never seen a shoo-fly pie, but who better to make it for than YWPWT? Great choice.

  7. I love your inspiration… that is so funny!

    I’ve often wondered what shoo fly pie tasted like. Now I know, sorta :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

