TWD: Hazelnut-Spread Filled Chocolate Madeleines


This week’s recipe was selected by Margo of Effort to Deliciousness and you can find the recipe for these madeleines on her blog! Thanks to Margo this was my first madeleine recipe and I can’t wait to make more!!!

I made this recipe based on a few key factors this week:

1. Snow/ice days (Tuesday is snow day #2 so extra time allows for more baking! Yay! :-))

2. Newly purchased madeleine pan (many thanks to my Brother & Sister-in-law for the Williams Sonoma gift card for Christmas!)

3. The fact that I had all necessary ingredients (except the heavy cream) in the kitchen

So yes! Right now I’m a little snow/ice stranded here in Atlanta and I don’t mind it one bit since it allows for extra baking/cooking (seriously since Saturday I have made these madeleines, sourdough bread (starting with getting the starter going), pizza (with biga) and the French Fridays with Dorie recipe for the week. So it’s been an awesome weekend!!! And I’m also very grateful that I have a market right across the street that carried eggs & heavy cream to help!

I have to say, the madeleines came out beautifully! Very, very elegant looking and quite tasty. We had a couple and I decided to freeze the rest but I just know they won’t be as delicious as the freshly made ones! I had a little bit of difficulty trying to get the hazelnut spread into the madeleines- which also isn’t too much of a surprise given my limited experience with tips. The spread I used wasn’t Nutella- they had free samples of this other hazelnut spread that I ended up buying (who’s name escapes me!) but was just as yummy :-)

6 thoughts on “TWD: Hazelnut-Spread Filled Chocolate Madeleines

  1. The madeleines look lovely, enjoy your new pans.
    Having a couple extra days to relax and bake
    sounds great to me; we don’t get snow days in CA.
    Thanks for baking with me this week!

Leave a Reply

