Scali Bread… The Italian Bread I Didn’t Know I Was Craving!

I came across this recipe for Scali Bread while I was perusing the bread recipes on the King Arthur site and decided to give it a try. I was not familiar with scali bread but after some research found that it is an Italian bread commonly found in Boston. It’s an olive oil enriched Italian bread (which reminded me of my Grandpa’s recipe). After making this bread and nearly eating all of it before dinner, I can attest to the deliciousness of the bread- it completely reminded me of the Italian bread that my Mom would purchase at our local IGA. You have a choice with this recipe whether to make it as a loaf or individual rolls. I made rolls so that I could freeze them and pull out a couple for dinner as we need them! I will need to make this bread on a fairly regular basis to have it around!

So here is the baking adventure through photography:

First came the starter

Before Rising

After the first rising

After the first rising you have to decide whether you are going to make loaves or rolls. Since I opted for rolls, I took the risen dough and divided it into 6 equal pieces. I then rolled the 6 pieces into logs and waited 10 minutes. I then took 3 of the pieces and rolled them out to 28,” brushed them with an egg wash and rolled them in the sesame seeds before braiding them. I then repeated the process with the other remaining logs.

To make the rolls I cut the 2 braids into 6 pieces and tucked the braid ends underneath. This resulted in 12 rolls which then had to rise for the second time, took about 90 minutes.

After 20 minutes in the oven!

Deliciousness!!!!!!!!!

One thought on “Scali Bread… The Italian Bread I Didn’t Know I Was Craving!

Leave a Reply

