TWD: Midnight Crackles

Happy New Year and Happy 3rd Anniversary TWD!

This first recipe of 2011 was selected jointly by Laurie of Slush and Jules of Someone’s In the Kitchen. First off, many, many thanks to Laurie and Jules for everything they do for Tuesdays with Dorie!!!!! Secondly, head to their blogs to see how these cookies probably should have turned out and to get the recipe so you can give it a shot! 🙂

Ok! On to the recipe. Typically, I get along well with all of Dorie’s recipes. Of course at the beginning there were a few issues while I was earning my baking wings but things have been pretty consistent (and very yummy!) ever since. I’m not sure what happened with the crackles! We just did not get on very well together. It started while all the ingredients were mixing- it began as one large ball but by the time I added the entire flour mixture everything came apart and was very crumbly. I wondered if maybe the issue was the stand mixer- was it too small? Was that why it fell apart? Either way, I went to work getting everything back together by hand and what a buttery, slick mess that made! Even after refrigeration the dough firmed up but it was still pretty buttery.

The cookies didn’t crackle so much while in the oven, some split apart but I don’t think that’s what was intended! The flavor of the cookies was pretty decent but the texture wasn’t my favorite (then again my husband kept going back to them again and again for more!). They reminded me in a way of the World Peace Cookies and boy do I love those! I sure am eager to see how they turned out for everyone else!

7 thoughts on “TWD: Midnight Crackles

Leave a Reply

