Triple-Chocolate Buttermilk Pound Cake (Southern Living)

Yes, this cake is absolutely as rich and delicious as the name suggests it would be! It’s the cover recipe for this month’s Southern Living magazine and will definitely make you pause (and drool) just by ogling the cover. Southern Living is pretty smart- you could never get away with including this recipe in January when people are entertaining thoughts of heating healthier, reducing sweets, etc but give it a month and we are ready for chocolate and Valentine’s Day! 🙂

IMG_4944

My co-worker & good friend celebrated a birthday this week so it was the PERFECT opportunity to try this recipe. It’s a great celebration cake! I just failed to bring in a gallon of milk for my coworkers to accompany this rich, delicious, chocolatey goodness.

The only hiccup I had with the recipe was removing it from the pan. The recipe said the cake needed to cool for 20 minutes before removal but that wasn’t enough time for the top of the bundt and I ended up with a few potholes.

IMG_4941 IMG_4940

IMG_4942The good news is that the icing worked just fine to fill in and cover up the imperfections. Next time I’ll use even more Baker’s Joy in the top of the pan and wait a little longer to remove it. The only other changes to the recipe included: accidentally forgetting the vanilla in the chocolate icing (no one noticed) and substituting regular milk for the buttermilk in the vanilla icing. I use the buttermilk powder and just didn’t want to bother with trying to make buttermilk for just a tablespoon.

I would absolutely make this cake again. Sure, the recipe might cause your blood sugar to increase just by reading it but that’s what makes it a great cake for indulging. Celebrate and check out the recipe from SL.

IMG_4948

6 thoughts on “Triple-Chocolate Buttermilk Pound Cake (Southern Living)

  1. This cake is Amazing!! I saw the magazine waiting in line at the grocery store and knew I had to try this one! This cake is moist, dense & chocolatey and one of the best cakes I’ve ever tasted! It is some work but well worth it. You can taste the homemade love in every bite! TIP……The reason the cake is sticking is the full size chocolate chips that are called for in this recipe. They sink to the bottom of pan during baking. I use a small food processor and chop the chips up before folding them into the cake batter. This will eliminate the sticking to bottom problem. Hope this helps!!:-)

      • Great idea about chopping the chips. Also, I put my cakes in mini mini bundt pans (cupcake size) so I could individually give as gifts. The recipe refers to 12 cup bundt pan in the regular version and the mini. I wasn’t sure what they meant. So I made 6 mini’s, 1 6 cup bundt, and 1 mini loaf pan. I was not going to let that wonderful chocolate batter go to waste. It is delcious- the recipe needs some clarity to the size bundt pans to use.

  2. Looks good !!
    I am going to bring this to a Christmas party this week.
    It does instruct to use shortening, not spray on the inside of the pan.
    That is most likely the reason for the sticking.
    Guess I will find out.

Leave a Reply

